top of page

Protective Styles of summer 2019 … If you’re not hip now, you will be after this!

So summer 2019 is approaching us fast and in a hurry child. The weather is still bipolar in my opinion but it’s not going to have no choice but to act right when school lets out. I’ve been daydreaming in class about the possible protective styles I’ll be rocking on these hot summer days and so far these are the newly trending hairstyles I’ve thought of:


1. Bohemian/Goddess Locs




These bad boys make me want to walk on a beach and let these locs swing 30 inches left and right. Make me feel like Kyler about to get her “groove back” (although it was never lost L O L). You will see a lot of baddies wearing these with shells or gold accents to make them POPPIN. Now either way, long or short these are really F I R E. Now what’s been trending a lot is the natural looking Bohemian/Goddess Locs, some of these hair braiders be having them look like they actually growing from the scalp! I’m definitely trying to get on this wave. A hairstylist I follow that has some great work specifically with this style is Imanni, her Instagram username is @goddessbeauti. She is a DMV hairstylist and has an assortment of hair services but them “nu locs “of hers, I will be making an appointment for. Y’all better watch out for me and my 30 inches of “nu locs”, OKAY!


2. Knotless Box braids




I’m going to be honest, when I first seen these braids come across my timeline I wasn’t really sure how to feel about them. They low-key looked really weird to me and all I could think about is how one of them braids going to slip out during a jog or something. BUT they have grown on me and I most definitely see myself rocking these too some of summer 2019. One specific hair braider made me FALL IN LOVE with her knotless braids and her name on Instagram is @millyb_creations. She is a Baltimore/DMV knotless braider, actually the first person I’ve seen do this look.


3. Passion Twists




Now I’m personally not a twist kind of girl because I’m too caught up in the poetic justice aesthetic but I think I might want to step outside of my comfort zone with these. I discovered these twists on Pinterest while I was scrolling off the late night one time. I haven’t seen a passion twister so far that has caught my eye but I’m pretty sure there’s an abundance of braiders out there that kills this look for their clients. One thing I always do when I’m searching for stylist is type in #DMVPASSIONTWIST or something of that sort, then BOOM you got you a library of stylist that specialize in this style and they are in your area.

Every girl knows it is a hassle choosing which protective style you want to wear because there are sooo many to choose from. My rule of thumb is go with whatever your alter ego says, my alter ego is currently telling me to swing my 30 inches of locs on a beach somewhere so that’s what Kyler (The Naturally Lost Girl ) will be doing summer 2019. <3

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page