top of page

Storytime: An Avocado Mess....

DIY Hair masks, you got to love em' right ... No not all the time. Let me tell you a little story about the failed experience I had with the Avocado Mask…

One day, after bleaching my hair I began researching ultimate hydrating hair masks. You see my hair felt really dry and brittle after torturing my strands with these long processes of bleaching. I was trying to achieve a brighter blonde from this butterscotch color I previously had and in order to get this look we had to lift my hair a couple of tones. There wasn’t any damage to my hair, but it was feeling a little more dry than usual, so I HAD to do something. I needed to get my hair out this drought.

So, at the time I began searching on Pinterest for recipes to good hydrating hair mask and the Avocado mask was one of the first I seen. A plus side to this was that my mom keeps avocados in the fridge for her meal prepping so that ingredient was MORE than easy to obtain. The only thing was on this particular day she only had one avocado (YIKES). I deliberated with myself and the thought of taking my momma’s last avocado when I knew she used them for her meals. Mmmmm, shall I take or shall I not... I took that avocado and ran for my life hunty. I took her avocado, honey, smashing mechanism, and I think some olive oil.



At the time I just created a YouTube channel and I was really eager to make content, so how is making an avocado mask tutorial not a great way to start (at the cost of one of my momma meals being avocado-less). I was so excited that I just began smashing the avocado. I didn’t read the instructions because I thought it was common sense what to do with the ingredients (apparently not for me) UNTIL I noticed that smashing the avocado was just turning it into little pieces and not making it a puree consistency. So, guess what I tried to do, I tried to WHISK the bitty pieces of avocado along with the oil, some water and honey. Not realizing that whisking the avocado wasn't going to make the proper texture either, I continued to whisk, whisk, whisk. Giving up on the whole consistency thing, I had the nerve to put the chili consistency of a hair mask onto my hair. YUP getting every chunk tangled in the strands of my hair. SMH!


When I showed my mother the mess, I done made she just looked at me like I was some psycho. Then when I went to go look in the mirror, I looked at myself the same way.



1,203 views0 comments
bottom of page